Skip to main content
Warumpi Band 4 ever [sound recording]
Warumpi Band 4 ever [sound recording]
Warumpi Band (Musical Group)2015
Music CDs
Iconic Aussie Indigenous rock band Warumpi Band are the subject of a new 2CD release entitled 'Warumpi Band 4 Ever,' out on Festival Records through Warner Music. Featuring acclaimed songwriter Neil Murray, renowned guitarist Sammy Butcher and fronted by the late George Rrurrambu - one of Australia's most charismatic frontmen - the Warumpi Band blazed a trail out of the Northern Territory in the early '80s, taking their message and their exciting sound to the whole nation. They were one of the first Indigenous bands to play the thriving national urban pub circuit and the first to get airplay for a song sung in language, with their much loved indie debut single "Jailanguru Pakarnu (Out From Jail)." They developed a close allegiance with the then biggest band in the country Midnight Oil; indeed it was the joint Warumpi Band/Midnight Oil 'Black Fella/White Fella' tour in 1986 that inspired the Oils' highly successful 'Diesel & Dust' album.
Main title:
Australia : Festival Records : distributed by Warner Music Australia, 2015
2 sound discs (CD) + booklet
Catalogued from containerCompact discs"This 2CD set features all three Warumpi Band albums remastered for the first time, together with a number of rare and unreleased bonus tracks" -- container.Sung in English and Luritja.
Performed by Warumpi Band.
Disc 1. Big Name No Blankets (1985): Waru (Fire) ; Blackfella/Whitefella ; Breadline ; Nyuntu Nyaaltjirruku (What Are You Going To Do?) ; Animal Song ; Warumpinya (Papunya) ; Wima Tjuta (All The Kids) ; Fitzroy Crossing ; Mulga & Spinifex Plain ; Gotta Be Strong -- Go Bush! (1987): No Fear ; Jailanguru Pakarnu (Out From Jail) ; Yolngu Boy ; Secret War ; My Island Home ; Didjeridoo Blue ; Kintorelakutu (Towards Kintore) ; Tjiluru Tjiluru (Sad And Lonely) ; My Countryside ; Falling Down ; From The Bush.Disc 2. Too Much Humbug (1996): Wayathul ; Stompin; Ground ; Makes You Feel ; Never Change ; Djulpan ; Stars ; Cold Weather ; Marrayilyil ; Joining My Life ; Koori Man ; Holdin' You In My Arms ; We Shall Cry ; Blackfella/Whitefella (Remake) -- Bonus Tracks: Yaka Bayungu (live, Broome, 2000) ; Sitdown Money (Powderworks A-side, 1986) ; Jailanguru Pakarnu (Out From Jail) (Hot Records A-side, 1983) ; Route 66 (CAAMA cassette, 1983) ; It's All Over Now (CAAMA cassette, 1983) ; Promised Land (CAAMA cassette, 1983) ; Warumpi Rock (CAAMA cassette, 1983).
Dewey class:
LocationCollectionCall numberStatus/Desc
Beaumaris LibraryMusic CDCD RCK WAR2 discs + bookletAvailable