Skip to main content
Chesapeake Tide : The Chesapeake Novels Series, Book 1
Chesapeake Tide : The Chesapeake Novels Series, Book 1
Baker, Jeanette2012
Find it!
#1 The Chesapeake Novels - A lot can happen in sixteen years, but falling out of love isn't one of them!  Pride has always kept a tight rein on Libba Delacourt, the pride that drove her away from Russ Hennessey and into the arms of a traveling actor, and the same pride that has kept her away from her home and family in Maryland for years. It's not until she receives word her mother is ill that Libba finally swallows that pride, quits her job as a genetic biologist, packs up her sixteen-year-old daughter, Chloe, and heads back east. The moment she takes her first breath of the humid salty air of the Chesapeake Bay, Libba knows how desperately she has missed living her. As it turns out, Libba is not the only person to return home that long, hot summer. Russ Hennessey has also made his way back with plans to resurrect his family's fishing business - plans that collapse when an unseen menace sabotages his ambitions. After Libba and Russ are thrown together once again, they discover some awful truths about life in their small town—-truths that hit awfully close to home.
[Place of publication not identified] : Author & Company, 2012
1 online resource (1 text file)
The Chesapeake Novels
Jeanette Baker is the award-winning author of fifteen novels, many of them set in the lush countryside of historical and contemporary Ireland where she lives and writes during the summer months. Her ancestors, the O'Flahertys, hail from Inishmore, the largest of the Aran Islands located off the coast of Galway. She takes great pride in the prayer posted by the English over the ancient citygates, "From the wrath of the O'Flahertys, may the good Lord deliver us."But Jeanette is one of those rare writers who can tell a great story set in any country and in any time period. Whether the book is a contemporary novel of California wine and horses (A DELICATE FINISH and THE LAVENDER FIELD), of the Maryland coast (CHESAPEAKE TIDE and CHESAPEAKE SUMMER) and Ireland (THIS IRISH HOUSE, THE DELANEY WOMAN, IRISH FIRE and SPELLBOUND); or is a historical novel (TUESDAY'S CHILD and THE RECKONING); or is a sweeping tale with a touch of the paranormal in Ireland (NELL and IRISH LADY), Scotland (LEGACY and CATRIONA) or Salem (WITCH WOMAN), readers may always rely on Jeanette to take them far, far away, to another world, of fascinating characters, intriguing plots and heart-felt love.Jeanette graduated from the University of California at Irvine and holds a Masters Degree in Education. When not in Ireland, she lives and teaches in Southern California. She is married and the mother of two
LocationCollectionCall numberStatus/Desc
WebEbooksDOWNLOADABLEOverdrive - eBookBorrow this eBook
Find it!