Skip to main content
The girl i left behind : an emotional, gripping and heartwrenching historical debut [ebook]
The girl i left behind : an emotional, gripping and heartwrenching historical debut [ebook]
Newton, Andie2019
Books
Find it!
'A powerful debut!' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife. 'A captivating story with a twist of romance threaded throughout' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan. 'A compelling tale of friendship, courage and espionage in a frightening and uncertain world' Charlotte Betts, author of The Dressmaker's Secret. What would you risk to save your best friend? As a young girl, Ella never considered that those around her weren't as they appeared. But when her childhood best friend shows Ella that you can't always believe what you see, Ella finds herself thrown into the world of the German Resistance. On a dark night in 1941, Claudia is taken by the Gestapo, likely never to be seen again, unless Ella can save her. With the help of the man she loves, Ella must undertake her most dangerous mission yet and infiltrate the Nazi Party. Selling secrets isn't an easy job. In order to find Claudia, Ella must risk not only her life, but the lives of those she cares about. Will Ella be able to leave behind the girl of her youth and step into the shoes of another? Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The German Midwife and Kate Furnivall. Praise for The Girl I Left Behind: 'A gripping historical page-turner about an audacious eighteen-year-old girl in Nazi Germany, who finds herself at the heart of the Reich. It's a thrilling tale of female friendship, young love, and extraordinary courage, laced with chilling reminders of the fate Ella will face if her treachery is discovered. A powerful debut!' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife. 'The Girl I Left Behind made me cry and left me wanting more, which to me are signs of a truly wonderful book, one that will stay with me long after I've finished reading' Lana Kortchik, author of The Story of Us. 'Wonderful story where it has you on the edge of your seat but have the tissues with you!' NetGalley Reviewer. 'The author has a gift for creating a sense of place whether the setting was on a snowy mountain or the streets of Germany in the early 1940s'
Imprint:
[Australia] : Aria, 2019.
Notes:
Downloadable eBook.Fiction.
Audience:
Interest age level: Adult.
System details:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
ISBN:
9781789546682
LocationCollectionCall numberStatus/Desc
WebEbooksDOWNLOADABLEcheck availability online (Set: 21 Nov 2019)
Find it!
0