Skip to main content
Thumbnail for The eyes of the queen

The eyes of the queen

Clements, Oliver2020
Books
After centuries locked in an endless cycle of poverty, persecution, and barbarity, Europe has finally emerged into the Age of Enlightenment. Scientists, philosophers, scholars, and poets alike believe this to be a new era of reason and hope for all. But the forces of darkness haven't completely dissipated, as Spain hunts and butchers any who dare to defy its ironclad Catholic orthodoxy. Only one nation can fight the black shadow that threatens this new age, and that is Britain, now ruled by a brilliant young Queen Elizabeth I. But although she may be brave and headstrong, Elizabeth knows she cannot win this war simply by force of arms. After her armies have been slashed in half, her treasury is on its knees. Elizabeth needs a new kind of weapon forged to fight a new kind of war, in which stealth and secrecy, not bloodshed, are the means. In this tense situation, Her Majesty's Secret Service is born with the charismatic John Dee at its head. A scholar, a soldier, and an alchemist, Dee is loyal only to the truth and to his Queen. And for her, the woman he's forbidden from loving, he is prepared to risk his life. A visceral and heart-pumping historical thriller, The Eyes of the Queen is perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.
Main title:
The eyes of the queen / Oliver Clements.
Author:
Edition:
First Leopolds & Co/Atria Books hardcover edition.
Imprint:
New York : Leopoldo & Co/Atria, 2020.©2020
Collation:
291 pages ; 24 cm.
Series title:
ISBN:
97815011546909781501154690 (hardback)
Dewey class:
823.92
Language:
English
BRN:
383610
LocationCollectionCall numberStatus/Desc
Hampton Library (CLOSED for refurbishment)Fiction CrimeCLEMItem Unavailable due to Library Building Works (in storage) (Set: 26 Mar 2022)
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list