Skip to main content
Thumbnail for The Furphy anthology 2020 : selected short stories from the Furphy Literary Award

The Furphy anthology 2020 : selected short stories from the Furphy Literary Award

Features 16 short stories judged to be the best of the entries for The Furphy Literary Award. The Award was established in 1992 and became a national competition in 2020. The Award is named for Joseph Furphy, the author of the Australian classic, Such is Life. The Furphy family established the Award to encourage writing in the Shepparton region, where the family were well known as blacksmiths, sheelwrights and foundrymen. The 5th generation Furphy members still derive much satisfaction knowing that their efforts during the war to supply Furphy water carts and in more recent times to honour the writing vocation are appreciated for their contribution to the history of Australia and to the development of the arts.
Richmond, VIC : Hardie Grant books, 2021.©2021
ix, 230 pages ; 24 cm
Awakening / Ruby Todd -- Pub raffle / Ya Reeves -- Ando gets plastered / Cate Kennedy -- The mid-way chair / Tony Carr -- Straining at the leash / Jean Flynn -- Last drinks at Barramar / Felicia Henderson -- The tailor of Gilgiddy Sidings / Lee Macefield -- Waiting for Karlee / Thomas McAllister -- The fish / Luke Martin -- Lay down your arms / Jenni Mazaraki -- King of Geoerge Street / Susan Osborne -- Ed's bus / Nicky Peelgrane -- Waiting for the dog / Mira Robertson -- Volkswagens / Natalie Sprite -- The telling of the bees / Gillian Turner -- Kath / Jonny Zweck.
9781743797686 (hbk)9781743797686
Dewey class:
LocationCollectionCall numberStatus/Desc
Sandringham LibraryAdult FictionFURPAvailable
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list